Afterpay & Zip Pay Available

Introduction to the Chakra System

Introduction to the Chakras
Whilst traversing the world of crystals and energy healing, you have likely come across the term “Chakras”. You have also probably seen references to different chakras in relation to crystals and information that certain crystals connect with different chakras, but maybe you don’t know what are chakras or the connection between chakras and crystals! 
Read on to learn more about  what chakras are, why they are important, an introduction to the chakra system and also to the concepts related to the flow of energy through the chakras.
Maybe you are just starting out on your spiritual journey and quite new to the world of energy and healing, or you may be on a health journey looking at alternative pathways to support your health and healing, or perhaps you already have some knowledge but are curious to learn more about yourself and energy healing...
I have worked as a Kinesiologist for the past 8 years, and have many more years of experience offering Reiki and exploring the world of energy healing, both personally and professionally.
Learning about the chakra system is foundational to many energy healing modalities, and understanding how crystals work with us on a subtle level. 
Choosing to learn more about the chakra system can give you fascinating insight into how your subtle energy connects with the psycho-spiritual aspects of yourself, your physical body, and how this impacts your level of consciousness and way you interact with the world around you. 
Learning about your chakras will give you a much greater understanding yourself, helping you to access ways of expanding your consciousness, transforming your relationship to yourself and the world around you as you will learn to know where and how you may be out of balance, as well as understanding what you may need to work on in order to restore balance and harmony within your body, mind or spirit.
 Chakras connect to the psycho-spiritual aspects

What is a Chakra?

 Chakra literally means “spinning wheel” in Sanskrit. Chakras are subtle energy spheres of bioenergetic activity that spin and create a vortex/torus of energy that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. Like a thought or feeling, subtle energies are informational in nature, and are perceived or experienced rather than something that you can physically touch or see.
The subtle energy from the chakras can have a strong effect on the physical body as each chakra receives, assimilates and transduces spiritual energy into the physical dimension. 
Your body is a vehicle for consciousness, and the chakra system helps you to understand how to access different levels of consciousness and how you can learn to develop and grow on a spiritual level based on working through blockages and imbalances that you become aware of within each chakra.
 your body is a vehicle for consciousness
Understanding that different energies, life experiences or physical imbalances can influence this flow of energy, is central to understanding how important the health and balance of the chakra system is to our overall wellbeing. 
Learning how to work through and clear energetic blocks and imbalances created by your life experiences, can help you to expand your consciousness and ascend to higher levels of awareness in this lifetime.
You may be able to learn to do this on your own, or you may find it easier to work with a trained professional or energy healer who understands this system well, and can help you learn through their insights. 

7 Major Chakras 

There are 7 major chakras that are located from the top of the head (crown chakra) down the spinal column to the base of the spine (base chakra), as well as many more minor ones located around the body, as well as etheric chakras that are located outside of the body. For now, we will focus on the seven major chakras.
 the seven chakras
Each of the chakras connects with an area of human physiological health, as well as archetypal elements, states of consciousness, core needs, elements, principles and philosophical constructs. We will cover more detail about each of the individual chakras in a later blog.
Universal Principle
Core Issue
Solar Plexus
Green & Pink
One of the primary mechanisms for the chakra system is to maintain the overall coherence of the etheric template, in turn maintaining the physical functions of the body via the Endocrine System. 
Chakras enter through both the back and front of the body and have a toroidal flow of energy, meaning that the energy loops in the shape of a donut, with the inner ring being within the body and the outer ring outside the body. 
The energy is constantly moving, collecting information from our external world, drawing it into our internal and sending it back out again. The rate at which the chakras spin, or at which the energy is flowing, can determine the health and balance of these centres. You can see a diagram of this here 
Each chakra stores specific types of energetic and psycho-spiritual information, and are connected to a nerve plexus as well as gland. There is connection between the body, mind, emotions and spiritual energy of each centre, based on their aligning energetic frequencies as well as physical health status.
Chakras are programmed based on the information stored within them, and manifest as patterns in our physical function, mind, emotions and also how we handle situations in life. 

Connection of the Endocrine System, Nervous System and the Chakra System

There is a very strong connection between the Endocrine System, Nervous System and our Chakra system. Energy enters the body through the chakra system, and connects directly into our Endocrine System, which is our system of glands and hormones. 
The glands in the body and their chakra connections are as follows:
Base Chakra = Adrenals
Sacral Chakra = Gonads (ovaries and testes)
Solar Plexus Chakra = Pancreas 
Heart Chakra = Thymus
Throat Chakra =Thyroid 
Brow Chakra = Pituitary
Crown Chakra = Pineal & Hypothalamus
     chakra receptivity and expression
    Each chakra also has aspects of receptivity and expression. We draw in information from outside, assimilate it and then express that information in a way that relates to each specific chakra. When a chakra is blocked, there may be a distortion of expression or reception. 
    There are two other vertical currents of energy that create the vortices of the chakras, which are consciousness and matter. 
     manifestation and liberation of energy and matter
    Consciousness enters via the Crown chakra, and moves downwards towards the earth in a Current of Manifestation. Consciousness manifests through embodiment. We take an insight or idea, and draw that through our upper chakras into the lower chakras that bring that idea eventually into physical reality via the base chakra, which creates action, order and stability.
    The upward current of energy is known as the Current of Liberation whereby energy become less dense and restricted, and is what helps us to release energy so that we may grow, expand and open up higher levels of consciousness.
    Having a strong and vital chakra system translates into good physical health, mental balance, emotional wellbeing, spiritual growth and expansion of consciousness. Learning more about each of the chakras in its multi-dimensional capacity also helps you to better understand how to take responsibility for your own health and wellbeing, and how to overcome and clear blocks as they arise along your journey.
    Want to learn more about the chakras? We will be offering a more in-depth course later in the year, as well as offering a series of blogs with basic information on each of the chakras and crystals to work with in relation to each chakra.
    Be sure to sign up to our newsletter to be informed of our next part to this series, which will focus on learning about the Base Chakra!